My summer goal: training for the Greater Cambridge 10K

Goodness, it has been a long time since I wrote anything on here!! I’ve overcome injuries I never thought would go and have taken up new and exciting physical activities including, rather amazingly, the aerial hoop. I’ve finally been able to regularly run 5km again. But one thing I still haven’t done is enter a proper running race.

When I originally set this blog up I was planning on running a marathon. I’m not sure that I’ll ever run a marathon now – simply because I don’t want to risk getting another injury. But I do want to start pushing myself – slowly and sensibly – on the running front. A few months ago, I quietly decided that I would look for a local 10km race to enter. Then a few days later saw THIS outside the Cambridge University Sports Centre, my beloved gym:

the-greater-cambridge-10k1-1461079650-large-article-0

This 10K race is organised by Living Sport and is a new race for Cambridge. It’s on a nice, flat route based around my lovely gym. If there is a race meant for me, it surely has to be this one I decided.

I walked past this sign a lot before I found the courage to commit – and for a while I kept it quiet. It’s quite scary, committing to a proper race. What if I don’t train enough? What if I get an injury the day before? What if I am so slow I end up being last? These are the thoughts that went through my head and kept me silent. But then I thought: well, all I can do is try. And who cares if I come last – or even don’t finish. It’s the trying that matters and so that’s what I’m going to do. I really like that it will be both my first race and the first time this particular event is running (unintentional pun).

September is a good time for a race to happen – the sun should still be shining but it won’t (I hope!) be boiling hot. But it does also mean that my training for it will mostly coincide with the summer holidays. This is super tricky for me as I’m a single parent and have the kids most of that time – especially over the summer.

At the moment, I’m not entirely sure how I’m going to get my training in with the kids around – especially road running (as opposed to doing it on the treadmill). I’m going to have to get creative with my plans I think! So I’m going to use this blog to document what I get up to each week in the run up to the 10K. So, stick with me and see what happens – and maybe sign up for the race too? Only if you promise not to be much faster than me though…

About jendrakemorgan

Teacher, owner of two medium sized people, lover of children's books & dressing up. Keen runner and fledgling aerialist.
This entry was posted in 10k race, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My summer goal: training for the Greater Cambridge 10K

  1. Reblogged this on Living Sport Blog and commented:
    We look forward to seeing Jen at the start line of our Greater Cambridge 10K

  2. Pingback: Meet the runners of the Greater Cambridge 10k, will you be joining them?

  3. Neej says:

    Hi there,

    Glad to hear you are recovering well from your injuries. You’ve got a great writing style and your interest in training, fitness, and PT made me want to reach out. I am the founder or AthletiQA.com – AthletiQA is an intelligent social Q&A platform for sports, where athlete, experts and fans can all interact on the most relevant sports topics. It’s a great way for athletes and experts to share their deep sports knowledge outside their close personal and professional circle and the fans get complete access into exclusive and inside information on the topics that are most relevant.

    We just got a ton of traction from folks like Marcellus Wiley – here is a video: https://youtu.be/Y5W4YFBluOs

    Would love to personally invite you to join the platform and be part of the discussions – http://www.athletiQA.com

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

